Nov 30 2005

Phishing Test

Published by Martin at 12:06 pm under Phishing, scams, etc.

MailFrontier Phishing IQ Test

Take a moment to look at this site and go through their Phishing IQ test. I only scored 8 out of 10, but the two I missed, I missed because I thought they were Fraudulent, when they were legitimate. Then come back and post your score in the comments.

[Slashdot] [Digg] [Reddit] [del.icio.us] [Facebook] [Technorati] [Google] [StumbleUpon]

6 Responses to “Phishing Test”

  1. Barryon 30 Nov 2005 at 3:45 pm

    1. Chase
    Legitimate … CORRECT

    2. PayPal
    Phishing Fraud … CORRECT

    3. Bank of America
    Phishing Fraud … INCORRECT
    (The correct answer was Legitimate)

    4. Washington Mutual
    Phishing Fraud … CORRECT

    5. MSN
    Phishing Fraud … CORRECT

    6. Earthlink
    Legitimate … CORRECT

    7. Amazon
    Phishing Fraud … CORRECT

    8. eBay
    Phishing Fraud … CORRECT

    9. Capital One
    Phishing Fraud … INCORRECT
    (The correct answer was Legitimate)

    10. Network Solutions
    Legitimate … CORRECT

    You got 8 out of 10 correct, or 80 %

    …Speaking of Chase, I tried reporting phishing to them but none of the forms on their website were for phishing reports, and they all required personal information like a telephone number. Then I tried the administrative contact email address in their whois information, but “domadmin at chase dot com” wasn’t valid and the email bounced back to me. I reported Chase to http://wdprs.internic.net/ for an incorrect administrative contact email, and I’ll be following up if I don’t see any progress.

    As for Bank of America, they don’t autorespond to phishing complaints, and they didn’t respond to my complaint about it through their form.

  2. studenton 30 Nov 2005 at 8:16 pm

    I got the exact same as Barry (above). I just looked at the web address in the status bar at the bottom. If the address looked correct, I would glance over the email to see what it was about. As a general rule, I don’t click on links in emails when the link goes to a page where I am required to enter personal information.

  3. Martinon 30 Nov 2005 at 8:20 pm

    Looks like we’re all making the same mistake, erring on the side of caution. Not that I’d expect anything less from the people who read this site.

  4. Kostas P.on 02 Dec 2005 at 4:12 am

    Exactly the same mistakes for me too. But I hadn’t noticed that you could see the URL at the bottom so I had to read through them and use my instinct.

  5. Leftymanon 04 Dec 2005 at 2:08 am

    I got most of them wrong… I pretty muched guessed the lot.

    If it was the real thing and not an image I’m sure I’d get them all right cus I use the CallingID.com toolbar which somehow always recognizes the fruad.

  6. Jasonon 18 Feb 2006 at 2:13 am

    I got 9/10 - only one wrong was CapitalOne (with the domain thingy) which turned out to be legitimate - hey better to be safe than sorry!!

Trackback URI | Comments RSS

Leave a Reply